Roasting marshmallows over a train wreck

I stumbled across this – this train wreck – of an article: “Why I Decided to Date a Conservative.”  Some choice excerpts:

OMG!!!” I texted my sister from a Starbucks bathroom to fill her in on the status of my blind date. “He’s amazing!” I had been on what felt like hundreds of dates without feeling an ounce of excitement. After one coffee, I sensed this man was different. He was intelligent, funny, kind, ambitious and insanely attractive.

Sounds like a lot of the men I meet at Fed Soc conferences.

But when I got home and looked at his online profile again, one word popped out that I previously overlooked: CONSERVATIVE. It hit me like a bullet: I am a staunch liberal Democrat. I started to panic, fearing he could be Paul Ryan disguised as Ben Affleck.

You’ve hit thirty and “panic” over the thought of having a latte with a guy who doesn’t share your political affiliation? Or is it panic over dating a clone of a conservative who managed to get at least 57% of the vote in his liberal district in every election he’s run in?

 I was raised by two working-class parents in a strong Democratic family who believed in serving others.
Conservatives give more of their money, time, and even blood to strangers than do liberals.  Slapping a (D) behind your name is no substitute for helping those who are less fortunate, and having the (R) there is no shorthand for “heartless”.

I studied feminist theory and became a civil rights and employment lawyer.

Which is a good thing, why? How does that prepare you to think logically, evaluate economic plans, help create wealth, or do anything besides grievance-monger?

When I was in college, I dated a great guy who proudly boasted about how he voted for George W. Bush. “He’s a great man,” he said. He was serious, so I was done.

If a “great guy” sees the goodness in someone, you dump him? Wow.

On another occasion, I jokingly asked a second date why he voted for someone who lies to the American public, to which he simply replied: “F*ck you.”

Good for him.

I’ve met plenty of men who bellyache about dating conservatives or vegetarians or vegetarians who eat conservatives.  To which I can only say: grow up.  Likewise, Ms. Collins: that you’ve hit the age of thirty without being able to create a meaningful relationship (romantic or not) with a conservative is your failing.

Furthermore, if you’ve spent your life hating conservatives, but are somehow still attracted to the male variety thereof, then it’s time to either reexamine your prejudices or to ask what it is in yourself that is attracted to values you despise. Either way, the blind-date guy is a human, not an animal in an exhibit or a trophy, and you don’t get a big gold sticker for going out on a second date with him.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellanea

Leave a Reply

