#MAGOP14, Part 3: the Grassroots Activists v. Keyboard Slacktivists

Over the past five years, I’ve done a lot of political and policy work in the Commonwealth, from organising the first-ever Tea Party rally, working on campaigns, testifying before the State House, running a ballot initiative, and serving on various Boards of Directors.

Every time I’m there, I see the same activists there in the trenches fighting for a better Commonwealth.  There aren’t a lot of us out there, and we all get to know each other.

Since 2010, there has been a tall, amiable fixture in the door-knocking and donation circles: Charlie Baker.  The guy is fifty years old and does the work that twenty-somethings often do, which is knocking on the doors of total strangers and asking them to vote for someone for state representative.  Those “someones” are always fiscal conservatives and are often social conservatives.  Baker has also donated extensively to conservative candidates. (See OCPF for full details.)

One pro-life delegate said that he supported Charlie for pro-life reasons: Baker has done more for the pro-life movement than Fisher has.  Fisher proudly stated that he is pro-life (to the cheers in the delegates); however, as far as any of us know, he hasn’t done anything to advance the pro-life cause.

The same ideological division is echoed in delegates and conservative voters.  I personally have zero patience with the keyboard jockeys whose only contribution to the cause is to bitch on Facebook and my blog about how they are going to get Charlie to lose.  Aside from the fact that you don’t show strength by getting people to lose – you show it by winning – slactivism is just plain irritating.  Go out and find a better candidate (who can get more than one-in-six conservative activists to support him or her), campaign for that person, spend your own time and money trying to get them to win, and then you can talk about what an awesome political animal you are.

5 Comments

Filed under Miscellanea

5 responses to “#MAGOP14, Part 3: the Grassroots Activists v. Keyboard Slacktivists

  1. I am sorry but I have to disagree. I do my political rantings and not participate in rallies and such. I have my own opinions and have the right to express it. I participate by voting and I have voted on every election since the age of 18. This includes local elections when I am able to make it to the voting booths. I would counter your reasoning by this example: If you supported our troops which I am assuming you do, is it logical for me to say that all you do is talk about your support as you could have joined us during our campaign in Iraq or Afghanistan? Of course not. I mean the military is not for everyone, and as such neither is being in the political trenches. I feel that I’ve already contributed to my country by serving. A big part of me serving is to preserve our liberties and as such to allow people to ramble about their political beliefs whether they agree with me or not.

    • bridget

      Your analogy is flawed. The issue is antagonism, not support. Consider:
      1. A person who complains about what the troops are doing in Iraq but has never been in the armed forces; and
      2. A person who claims to “support the troops” in an abstract sense demanding priority over a veteran.

      Get it now? Don’t diss those in the trenches or complain about their efforts while patting yourself on the back for being a keyboard jockey.

    • Right, like those supporting politicians who sent me to war would justifiably have an honorable standing. Don’t get me wrong I support the war effort and proudly served which is more than what you can claim.

      Secondly calling me a keyboard jockey while never getting your hands dirty in order to provide for the safety of this country is a bold statement on your part. Are you saying that my service and other veterans who served for our country is not enough? And that your petitioning and support for a politician is more important than our sacrifices?
      I am sorry ma’am it is you who over exaggerate your importance while maintaining the high seat of your political participation. All while others doing the real fight get neglected and put down.
      I am disappointed that you would disrespect my fallen comrades by claiming that your way is the way. This is the way of the democrats by the way is to pose those who don’t agree with them and be little them. Our God given rights under the constitution of the United States of America is our Liberties, and that includes the freedom to express ourselves, even if it is complaining, it could still get the message out that people are not happy with the way things are. How do you think big companies figure out whether people are happy with their product or not? Why do you think there is a poll on approval ratings on politicians?

      “All give some and Some gave all”

    • bridget

      It was exceedingly clear that I was comparing political activists versus “slacktivists,” not political activists versus the troops.

      Thank you for your service, and find another blog upon which to grind your axe.

    • Sorry not meaning to “grind my axe”, just voicing my disagreement. Good luck with your candidate I hope he makes it. God knows we need a change in this country. A strong republican senate would help a lot.
      Just a word of caution, to me anyways, you can, at times sound like the very ones you are hoping not to run the country. Don’t be over excited and forget what it is you are fighting for. Especially fighting the hard battle in the state you are fighting in.

Leave a Reply

